On Friday evening, April 26, 2013 Belton Regional Medical Center — part of HCA Midwest Health System, Kansas City’s largest healthcare network— held their annual Employee Service Recognition and Awards Dinner at The Station in Belton, MO. The evening started with a social hour followed by a catered dinner.

The evening’s program started with a welcome by Yvonne Brewington, Director of Human Resources. Introductions and remarks were given by Todd Krass, CEO of the hospital with special recognition given to the hospital’s Patient Family Advisory Committee (PFAC) and their guests in attendance. They were present to share in the hospital’s successes this past year.

The first awards for the evening presented were the prestigious Frist Humanitarian Awards. Established in 1971, the annual Frist Humanitarian Awards are given in the caring spirit and philanthropic work of the late Dr. Thomas S. Frist, Sr., a co-founder of HCA. The awards honor employees, volunteers and or medical staff members who demonstrate commitment and dedication to providing outstanding care and humanitarianism to their communities. “HCA has a long tradition of recognizing those who embody the values and spirit of our culture. Each year, we celebrate and commend individuals for their achievements and contributions to their communities and our organization through the First Humanitarian Awards, stated Todd Krass, CEO. This year Janelle Biernbaum, Director of Business Development & ECO of Belton Regional Medical Center was the hospital’s Frist Employee Award winner. In making the presentation, Nicole Smith-Hendricks, VP of Operations shared Janelle’s humanitarian contributions through her work with the Raymore Chamber of Commerce serving on their board for many years in executive positions as well as chairing many of its fund raising committees, Cass County Health Foundation which has now started a Dental Clinic in Cass County for children with dental needs, The Walk for Health chairing or co-chairing the fundraiser many years, Hope Haven of Cass County Domestic Violence Shelter Board, the Raymore Economic Development Host Team, her church, the City of Raymore’s Charter Review and TIF Commissions, American Heart Association’s Heart Walk and hospital fund raisers for the event each year, the American Cancer Society’s Annual Walk and fund raisers, as well as her hospital. “Janelle truly brings service before herself. She has been instrumental in bringing awareness to Cass County though the annual Go Red for Women Event now in its fifth year, and hosting the Pretty in Pink, Ladies Night out Breast Cancer Awareness Event now being held each year during October. There is no limit to her humanitarianism and giving back to her community, “stated Nicole Smith-Hendricks, VP of Operations as she presented Janelle with the award.  The next presentation of the evening was the Frist Volunteer Humanitarian Award. This year’s award winner was Volunteer Shirley Hare.  In making the presentation, Yvonne Brewington, HR Director shared Shirley’s many acts of kindness with our patients, especially in the hospital’s oncology department. She makes sure that every patient and staff needs are met before she leaves on her volunteer days staying many days until early into the evening. Shirley has also helped volunteer with the hospital’s Heart Walk, Walk for Health and Health Fair, Go Red for Women Event and Pretty in Pink Breast Cancer Awareness Event.

The hospital’s Employee Advisory Committee were presented with certificates of appreciation, by Todd Krass, CEO. In making the presentation Krass explained how this group of employees meet on a monthly basis sharing ideas and issues brought to them by their co-workers.  Several projects were completed this past year at the hospital as the results of recommendations made by this group. Those recognized were: President Trevor Volkland, ATC from Rehab Services; Sharifa Calloway, Laboratory; Sherri Derry, GI/Pain Clinic; Emmanuel Ademuyiwa, Environmental Services:;Kayla Hill, Pharmacy; Stephanie Jackman, Medical Imaging; Leanne Atcheson, Medical Imaging; Greg Thorn, Food Services; Keiann McDonald, Respiratory Therapy; Kristin Jones, Med/Surg; Sharon Meyer, Patient Access; Monique Comstock, Emergency Services; Amanda Scrogham, Surgical Services; and Shay Lyon, Surgical Services.

Todd Krass, CEO and Yvonne Brewington, Director of Human Resources then presented certificates to 31 employees recognizing their service to the hospital. They were employees who reached a five year milestone ranging from five years of service to forty years of service.

Kirk Ridley, MD and Douglas Bradley, MD next presented the Belton Regional Medical Center’s Medical Staff Appreciation Awards. This year’s award winners recognized by the physicians were Lisa Nichols, RN and Ultrasound Technologist in Medical Imaging, Valeria Finley, RN in ICU, and John Cordry, Surgical Technician in Surgical Services.

To conclude the awards ceremony the four employees of the quarters were recognized. They were Lisa Nichols, RN from quarter one from Medical Imaging; Candice Roller from Pharmacy for quarter Two; Michele Acosta, RN from Quality for quarter three; and Amanda Scrogham, RN from Surgical Services for quarter four. Amanda Scrogham was then announced and presented the 2012 Employee of the Year Award for Belton Regional Medical Center. In making the award Krass stated, “Amanda has respect, compassion and loyalty for all of her patients and co-workers in the hospital. She goes above and beyond to help everyone in her department. Amanda’s strong work ethic and the ability to handle multiple tasks is an outstanding charge nurse in our surgery department.”